As reported in Milwaukee Business Journal:

Milwaukee Art Museum director Marcelle Polednik and Robert W. Baird & Co. Inc. financial advisor Emily Phillips are among the first group of winners to be announced in the Milwaukee Business Journal’s prestigious 40 Under 40 awards program for 2017. Check out the attached slideshow to see photos of the winners.

Other winners in our first group announced Tuesday include Marquette University lacrosse coach Joe Amplo; Ashley Hines, diversity and inclusion manager for the Medical College of Wisconsin; and Eric Lenzen, an attorney at Husch Blackwell LLP.

Our radio partner WTMJ-AM (620) will be highlighting one of our winners each day as part of our partnership with the station. Click here for WTMJ’s first spotlight report.

In all, we received nearly 260 nominations for this year’s program.

We are divulging the winners the same way we have done for the past three years. We are going to announce 10 winners per day for the remainder of the week, with the entire list running in our Jan. 6 weekly edition and on our website.

I encourage you to come back to our website frequently and follow us on Twitter at @mkebizjournal this week to see the names of the winners, all of whom you will learn a lot more about over the next two months. In addition, we will be announcing next week the four former winners who will be inducted into the 40 Under 40 Hall of Fame this year.

This 40 Under 40 class represents the future of community leadership in southeastern Wisconsin. Every year, we have to make some very hard decisions as there are many deserving candidates. These individuals really stood out for what they have accomplished so far and the difference they are making in the community.

This is the 25th year the Milwaukee Business Journal has honored Milwaukee’s up-and-coming leaders. Previous winners include Milwaukee Public Schools superintendent Darienne Driver; The Marcus Corp. CEO Greg Marcus; Justin Aprahamian, owner of Sanford Restaurant; Milwaukee attorney Cory Nettles; and Milwaukee entrepreneur Andy Nunemaker.

As this is the 25th year of the popular program, look for additional features on our website over the next several weeks allowing you to catch up with some of our winners to see what they have accomplished in their careers and in helping our community.

Winners will be honored in a special section Feb. 17 and at a Feb. 21 awards event at The Pfister Hotel.

Here is our first group of 10 winners:

  • • Marcelle Polednik, director, Milwaukee Art Museum
  • • Ashley Hines, diversity and inclusion manager, Medical College of Wisconsin
  • • Joe Amplo, lacrosse coach, Marquette University
  • • Eric Lenzen, attorney, Husch Blackwell LLP
  • • Emily Phillips, financial advisor, Robert W. Baird & Co. Inc.
  • • Angie Helfert, project manager, Mortenson Construction
  • Ryan Trost, senior vice president of finance, Phoenix Investors LLC
  • • Sean Lowe, investment client services specialist, Northwestern Mutual
  • • Peter Olesen, vice president, O&H Danish Bakery
  • • Katie Wessel, owner, Milwaukee Pretzel Co.

Read the full story here